Having a good university guarantees people a good job. To what extent do you agree?

University degrees attract people for different reasons. Many contend that holding a degree from high-rank universities is a guarantee to have more suitable jobs. I, for one, strongly disagree with this opinion and this essay will outline the reasons for that.

To begin with, it is a complete false belief to assume that degrees alone are able to make us great job seekers. To explain more, nowadays, almost all of the recruiting agencies look for the candidates who not only have the knowledge, but also many variety of skills such as: computer skills, the level of foreign languages specially English and hands-on experiences. A great example is when the Google corporation announced that they were recruiting some employees for different positions in 2013; Surprisingly enough, the ones with more experience and the skills related to the positions, regardless of their university degrees, were hired. As a result, although it can have a good impression on employers, however, it seems that it does not guarantee anything.

In addition to this, universities only focus on topic-based knowledge and theories which, said by many experts, does not prepare the graduates for life. The problem begins when these alumni have completed their studies, after many years of hard work, and no companies nor agencies take the risk of giving these newly graduates a chance; and the reason, indeed, is obvious. As most economist in this field believe, having a university degree, no matter from which ones, will never replace the lack of the primary and basic skills required in today's business world. A study conducted in Tehran in 2019, revealed that over 70% of the bachelor holders were working as an ‘Snap’ driver.

To conclude, as the best CEO's on the planet always claim, whether one desires to be successful in the road of business, focusing and gaining experience and learning new techniques and ideas, which current modern world requires, is a necessity and they definitely outweigh having a degree.