Human activity has had a negative impact on plants and animals around the world Some people think that this can not be changed while others believe actions can be taken to bring about a change Discuss both views and give your opinion

For decades, mankind has been influencing the balance of the nature substantially, and animals and plants have been undergoing devastating results. Some argue that this situation cannot be changed, while others argue that there is still a possibility of changing it. This essay discusses both sides of the argument and then I will give my own perspective.

The main reason why some believe that the human activities bringing negative ramifications on the nature cannot be changed is because producing basic human needs such as shelter and food heavily impact on animals and plants. People nowadays are struggling to secure their basic needs, hence they are unlikely to pay attention on the resulting issues on the environment. Moreover there are manifold other activities that directly impact on animals and natural habitats, which are unlikely to be stopped for the sake of well-being of nature, because of money-grubbers. For example widespread illegal wood cutting and hunting often bring detrimental effects to ecological systems around the world.

Others, however, believe that aforementioned human activities still can be changed in order to tackle this situation. Firstly environmental-friendly and sustainable housing development planning can massively reduce the deforestation not only by effective land usage, but also by reduced usage of natural resources in construction. For example, even though Singapore has limited land area , the government has been able to conserve forests and natural habitats by effective land usage , particularly by promoting multi-story residencies. Secondly, robust rules and regulations can be introduced against many forms of activities such as illegal wood cutting or hunting, which would bring significant impact on deterring them.

In conclusion, I believe that both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I tend to believe that harmful human activities to the nature can be controlled by effective resource planning in developing activities and imposing rigid rules and regulations against those who destroy natural resources and habitats indiscriminately.