Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Illiteracy has become interminable in many countries in spite of the rapid development of information technology. There are 3 main causes and related effects that are impeding to the economic development and social well being standards. This essay will explain the causes and effects of illiteracy.

Though the governments are spending many programs for development of schools in rural area, the illiteracy rates have not fallen. Firsty, the reason is the structure of governance in the country is inadequate to identify the people in requirement and promote the importance of education. The lack of awareness for the need to have knowledge can be cited as major cause in all countries. Finally, the religious superstitions and customs blinds the people from showing the necessity of education. For example, Malala from Afghanistan, a teenage hero who became victim for demanding schools in her village, by the extremist religious groups. An article published in “India Today” states, that rural people has less credibility for education as the villagers feel there is no necessity to study all subjects other than the practical agriculture and basic maths.

The lack of awareness by the people for the need of education when the world is advancing rapidly into digitalisation, creates a dent in the process of effective banking and governance. The increasing mobile computation and digital money concept requires the common man to be equipped with the know-how of digital devices. To obtain the knowledge literacy becomes crucial. It is illiteracy that pushes a person into chronic stress thereby resulting in frustration and finally criminal minds. An article by “Times of India” newsdaily quotes that most of villagers who migrated city has failed to cope up with the city life due to their illiteracy.

Therefore, the causes may stem from many factors in various parts of the world but the above mentioned main causes indicate the detrimental effect to the economy and society as a whole if illiteracy persists.