The impact that the growing demand for more flights has had on the environment is a major concern for many countries. Some people believe that one way to limit the number of people travelling by air is to increase tax on flights.To what extent do you agre

With the steep rise in the air travel, the environment is deteriorating rapidly, which is of great worry for several nations. Some reckon that enforcement of extra cess on air tickets would restrict the individuals from using the air transport. In my opinion, I partially agree with the above mentioned statement as it is not the clear solution to curb the problem.

First and foremost, levying the huge tax on air fare would reduce the use of airplanes to some extent. As the tickets would be expensive, few people would avoid travelling through air frequently and consequently it will lessen the air pollution to a certain degree. Hiking the air transport cost would benefit the airlines, which in turn would improve the services and subsequently benefit the passengers. To exemplify, ticket of Qatar Airways is rather quite expensive in comparison to other airlines but amenities they offer is comfortable and luxurious.

But this is not the perfect solution to bring down the pollution level. Certain other measures should be employed to limit the situation. Alternatively, other source of transport like electric trains should be put to use for longer distance travel. Commuters would use electric trains instead of domestic airlines for travelling to another state in a country. Further, with the advent of new technology, special planes should be manufactured which use bio-diesel as a fuel as it emits less amount of pollutants. Another source is the solar power, which should be harnessed to minimize the contaminants in the environment. For instance, a solar power based plane was put on trail to travel farther distances and it successfully accomplished the task.

To encapsulate, escalating the fee of air journey would not resolve the problem in a definite manner, other measures like bio-diesel and alternate environment friendly forms of transport should also be deployed.