The sports industry has largely been commercialized and a significant amount of taxpayer's money is spent on the development of players for the sake of bringing trophies and medals. It is often argued by experts and non-experts that instead of spending a huge amount on a handful of sports star, this amount should rather be better invested in campaigns motivating the wider population to adopt a healthy lifestyle and remain physically fit. I completely agree that a country's resources should not be wasted this way and policy-makers are obliged to work out ways that benefit the majority.

Generally speaking, the money spent on initiatives to emphasize the importance of physical exertion has several long term tangible benefits. Firstly, the public who act upon these drives and start taking part in physical activities are less likely to get sick resulting in the reduction of the healthcare budget. As a result, the savings can be allocated to other vital areas such, education and tourism which help to improvise the overall economic conditions of the country. In addition, it greatly increases the productivity and work efficiency of laborers and office workers, providing them the necessary energy and power to accomplish their targets.

Another point worth considering is that the citizens develop positive thinking about lawmakers when they see tax money is spent on positive causes. If a significant amount of money is spent on a few individuals or sectors, it may result in provoking resentment and hatred amongst the group of people because of Inequality. In addition, it is not always possible for sportspersons to secure top positions in international events and if they are unable to perform well, those in government are severely criticized for squandering public funds.

To conclude, expenditure on preparing sportsmen and sportswomen for winning tournaments is considered to be futile when this could be better spent on other areas.