The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects.

The Internet became one of the crucial aspects of our communication. Most of us today cannot think of socialization without social media. Some people reward the benefits of this development however the others claim that this change in our communication will have drastic effects on face-to-face interactions. This essay will discuss both approaches and provide relevant examples.

Firstly, the Internet makes long distances short and brings people together who live far away from each other. It is often said that students living abroad are feeling much better when they can speak with their family at any time they want through video calls. Moreover, in pandemic times, many people have to live isolated in their homes, and the only way to connect to close ones was by calling them and organizing online video conferences. Researchers stated that 75 percent of social communication happened throughout the Internet in times of strict lockdown in 2020. This means that we benefitted immensely from the internet.

On the other hand, there are ongoing debates over the negative aspects of the Internet. It is maybe true that video calls made life easier, however social media usage remarkably increased in recent years, and this brought the question of how constructive our communication. For Instance, There are many fake accounts on social media that comment on the pictures that people share and in some cases, those comments happened to have discouraging content that affects people's lives intrinsically. Recent research from Oxford University reveals that social media dislikes have destructive results on teenager's social development.

In essence, It is clear that the internet has created a new way of communication and this brought side effects alongside it. In my opinion, this new way creates advancements and it should be seen as an addition and variety to socialization rather than seeing as eliminating other options. Furthermore, vulnerable groups like children should be taught to use the internet mindfully.