The internet has greatly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The Internet has become the necessity of our life. It has revolutionized the communication of the modern era, and has changed the way to access information across the world. I agree with this statement to an extent, and in this essay, I will highlight merits and demerits of it.

On one hand, the Internet has provided ease in one’s life from browsing an article to buying a house. Nowadays, one can simply search for an article and get the information in seconds. One does not need to wait or look through books to get the required data. With the advent of the internet, access to information has become very easy without spending any effort to look for it. People can browse the required information in mere seconds. For instance, if a student wants to read an article for his homework, he can browse over the internet and can get the required information quickly.

On the other hand, there are some downsides as well as the benefits of this great invention. Firstly, it is difficult to control the access to information, and with such openness, it can cause a negative impact on young generation especially kids. For example, kids can browse adult sites if parental controls are not in place. Secondly, it is not guaranteed to have authentic information over the internet. In order to browse anything, a person needs to verify the source as there can be a lot fake information floating around. Finally, the Internet has been used to propagate any agenda by controlling the minds of common people. Even political parties are using it as a tool to spread information that could easily offer them edge over their opponents. One example of such propaganda can be seen in the last presidential election in the US, where Trump was accused to influence people via social networks.

In conclusion, Internet is considered as the greatest invention of this millennium, but it has its own pitfalls from access control to spreading fake news. Therefore, I firmly believe that it can be an excellent tool if used in a proper way.