The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computer and smartphone all around the world. Much of this knowledge also free. Discuss advantages and disadvantages.

Due to technological advancement, individuals can surf internet to get ample amount of information instantly by using gadgets like smartphone and computer globally and maximum of the details are available on internet is free of cost. However, utilising this resource has its disadvantages as well. Both the merits and demerits of using internet are discussed in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, to deal with the positive aspects of internet, it is an accepted fact that internet has helped millions of people to learn about the things which were unknown to them even a decade ago. Its access has helped the students to gain knowledge on the subjects who could not afford to go to school or hire a private teacher. For instance, in a recent research it is a proven fact that, the literacy percentage in rural areas of India (in spite of having less educational institute) has increased to 40% due to the internet facility provided by government. In addition, Internet has made the information very effective through videos and colourful contents which people find very interesting than studying text books which is very monotonous.

On the other hand, the flip side of the internet is people get confused with abundance of information and sometimes the data available on internet can mislead a person because, it may not be genuine all the time. Moreover, hackers can use malware software thorough internet to steal one’s personal data such as, banking information which can be a threat to their hard earned money. Furthermore, Children can easily access to some adult sites, which will have a bad impact on them.

In conclusion, the information available on internet has its own merits and help students in various way, but the drawbacks cannot be overlooked.