It is better for college students to live far away from home than live at home with their parents.

Do you agree or disagree?

You should write at least 250 words

For some students, accommodation is a lifestyle on the college campus. Many people think that residing on campus is superior to staying at home with their parents. I agree with this view for several reasons.

Firstly, students who are about to attend tertiary education might find living in dormitories highly convenient. No doubt it would make these individuals less time to commute daily as their rooms are close to the class. By contrast, students whose houses are far from schools are highly likely to spend much time traveling back and forth, not to mention frequent traffic jams that could prevent them from going to school punctually.

The second benefit that staying on-campus offers students is the opportunity to become independent. Those who live far away from their parents indeed have to face a great number of problems on their own, ranging from managing personal budgets, finding suitable part-time jobs to eating properly and taking care of their health. This would help them to develop a strong sense of self-reliance, which plays an important role in their lives in the future. On the other hand, if students live at home, they tend to rely on parental support and some could become over-reliant.

Finally, exposure to people from all walks of life is highly beneficial. When staying in the school's hall of residence, students are usually surrounded by peers of different races, religions, and so on. This forces them to learn about cultural or religious differences, a unique experience that cannot be duplicated if they choose to live off-campus.

In conclusion, it seems to me that living on campus is the better option for students for the above-mentioned reasons.