Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In a literal sense, Advertising is the art of showcasing a product to its future consumers. When a company or a person advertises a product he is conveying how the product would benefit the consumer with its unique and best features. Since the Inception of consumer markets, merchants have been using Advertising and marketing to sell their products and increase their reach to maximum consumers. I am in absolute discord with the statement that Advertising insists people buy things they do not need. In my view, Advertising is a key tool in the market mechanism and can benefit customers and ultimately merchants in several ways like spreading awareness, increasing competition, discourage monopoly, and help the overall economy.

Advertising has helped and is continuing to help spread the right information and makes a consumer cognizant of what is available in the market. It helps drive the competition upwards benefitting the end customer by getting varied options to choose from. For example, when 'Colgate' came into the market as the first toothpaste, consumers did not have any other option other than Colgate until other companies like 'Close-up' started advertising their product. This resulted in a boost in the competition which ultimately slashed the prices of the product. Thus, Advertising plays a very important role in engaging the end customer such that the buyer gets the best worth of what he is spending. While a consumer is the end target and beneficiary of any product produced by a merchant, a consumer is also the best judge of the decisions he takes in terms of what he wants to buy. In my opinion, it is inappropriate to blame advertising for increased consumer spending. To curb the unnecessary spending both people and government have to work collectively. People need to be wary of their spending and pay heed to their finances by managing them smartly. A government can play its part in authorizing and monitoring the right content to be published to the public. Hence, right and smart advertising can help a nation and its population in great ways by exploiting the benefits of advertising.

To draw the conclusion, barring a few disadvantages Advertising can be used as a tool to enhance the growth of an economy by increasing spending, bringing the right products to the consumer, boosting the competition. Even the Government can use smart adverts to make people aware of managing their finances and increase financial literacy. All in all, I would recommend healthier advertising to benefit the consumer, merchant, and ultimately the world economy.