It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often observed that friends, media and western culture influence child’s mindset. On the contrary it is seen that family has a significant role in development of child. I opine that children staying with their parents since child hood adapt the same thought process and culture.

On the one hand, it is commonly noticed that child’s brain is malleable at very early age, whatever they see and hear remains with them for lifetime. Parents play a vital role in the enhancement of their personality as they are present with their kids by birth. For example, children coming from dysfunctional family mostly exhibit behavioral issues at school. These kids sometimes becomes furious in difficult situation and endup creating problems with others. Therefore, it is necessary to give loving and caring environment to children at their growing age to define their personality in future.

On the other hand, children not listening to music and those who don’t watch television makes them dumb and dull. It is necessary for kids to play with their peers and if required follow their favorite cartoon character or Bollywood artist. Though it teaches negative and positive aspect, parent’s inculcation forces them to adapt the right thing. For example, children demand toys of their favorite cartoon character and also the costume of their favorite Bollywood actors. Young ones want to follow the lifestyle they get influenced by media. So it is really not mandate that tinytots will be influenced by their surroundings till the time they have been guided by their gaurdians.

In my opinion, kids tends to choose friends whom they find matching their behavior and this gets inculcated by the parents.

To recapitulate, I would rather say that parents are the first school of children where they learn basics and apply in their though process in lifetime.