It has been observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing

to study science subjects at university. What do you think are the causes of the

problem? What are the effects on society

These days, students are divided in their opinion regarding to which subject they opt to study and in many nations very few of them choose science at the tertiary institutions. So what are the implications? This essay will discuss the reason fo this phenomenon and the effects on the society.

Apparently, undergraduates tend to go for courses that are easier to study however, there are many reasons for their lack of interest in science courses. Firstly, the use of outdated curriculum to teach. To elucidate, most educational institutions are still dependent on old curricula and this has made lectures boring and difficult to comprehend. Secondly, learning science requires hard work and pragmatic approaches and these characters are not inherent in our youths today. To illustrate, most youngsters are lazy and they opt for easier things in life. More so, they channel their youthful exuberance to irrelevant aspects in life which are not beneficial to them. For instance, it is a common trend these days that every young adult wants to become a muscian, they think it is the easiest way to riches. By and large, the two major reasons why pupils opt less of science courses in school are the use of obsolete curriculum in schools and the belief that science subjects are difficult to study.

On the other hand, the effects of these to the society are outrageous. This can lead to a decline in scientific innovations. In other words, science is important in our everyday life and decision making and when hindered , everything stalls. For instance in Nigeria, voting requires a high precision of technology to be carried out and when this is not done, irregularities follow such as rigging, disenfranchisement and so on.

Furthermore, another adverse effect of shortage of scientist is production of substandard and fake goods. To expatiate, in this modern times, due to burgeoning technological advances, workers in scientific fields are sort out for but when there are shortages of scientists to fill in the positions, it could be detrimental to the society and can lead to production of substandard goods. To exemplify , in 2013 India with her technologies but not enough scientist produced a plethora of substandard and fake drugs, this was attributed to lack of scientists to manage their ever growing pharmaceutical sector. By and large, shortage of scientist could lead to unwholesome goods in circulation.

To recapitulate, the benefits of students studying science subjects cannot be over emphasised nonetheless, the reasons for this phenomenon are obsolete teaching curriculum and the belief science course are difficult to study. In addition, when there are not enough science student in the society, it can lead decline technological innovations and production of unwholesome products.