Nowadays, people have developed poor eating habits and do not eat balanced diet.

What are the reasons behind this?

Suggest possible solutions to control this.

Unbalanced diet and unhealthy eating patterns are very common with people these days. Some of the reasons for the worrying trend are availability of cheap junk food and the modern busy lifestyles. This essay will elaborate on the causes of the phenomenon and suggest possible solutions.

To begin with, a major reason for this menace is the easy access to lowly priced junk and over the counter meals. It is common these days to have several fast food outlets offering ridiculously priced meal which in turn increases patronage and consumption by people. For example, in Nigeria there are at least three food outlets offering discounted meal combos on each major road. In addition, the lifestyle of the 21st century man encourages poor feeding habits. In other words, most people are always on the move commuting to and from work, leaving them with little time or no time to cook healthy meals thereby resorting to quick snacks or food. These reasons have contributed greatly to poor eating habits and absence of balanced meals.

There are several ways to curb this issue. One of which is increasing taxes on junk food. By doing this fast food become expensive and unaffordable for most people and this reduces its consumers. Another way is to create awareness on healthy eating. In other words the various food control agencies can run radio and television adverts encouraging people to eat well. Also, they can organize visit to public places like the hospital, stadia and the church to educate people on the benefits of eating nutritious meals.

To sum up, making over the counter meals less affordable by raising its tax rates and educating people on balanced diets will help solve the problem identified in this essay.