It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community Would the drawbacks of such a requirement be greater than the benefits to the community and the individual young adults

Community service and voluntary work is always considered as secondary to our professional growth. Our parents are so busy in tuning us as better engineers, doctors and tend to forget to teach how important doing free service once in a while. We can see this attitude especially in young adults who are aspiring to become software analysts, medical students. Main reason for this situation, is probably they fail to see relevance of social activities to their career development. Hence, sociologists opine that it is very important to consider the idea of mandating youth to participate in unpaid work for short period as part of academic curriculum. I strongly agree with this notion as benefits outweigh drawbacks if any by implementing this experiment. Let’s look into various occasions and possible community service we can relate to them along with positive benefits it has.

Students who are preparing for Administrative exams should spare some time for voluntary teaching to under privileged children which will enable them to refresh their memory in basic education. Graduates who are training for police academy should concentrate on orphanage homes and prepare for emergency needs during floods or earthquakes. Hospitals can use some extra hands from medical college students for giving first aid and nursing babies. Animal husbandry, fire station, nursery schools are some quintessential services which can provide opportunity for those who want to have experience as freelancers. Apart, we have some companies who can offer unpaid internship programmes to freshers for first hand experience.

Engaging in these activities let us to think out of the box in critical moments which can spontaneous solution to the problem. A survey conducted by Harvey University reveals that candidates who push themselves for extra-curricular activities have dexterity in solving crisis to those who restrict to academic excellence. Afterall, without soft skills surviving in any job is impossible and those are not topics covered in any syllabus. On the other hand, society can make significant benefit from enthusiastic candidates as their contribution help economically as well. As outcome of discussion speaks itself there is no reason to not make compulsory rule of social service in all curriculum's.

In conclusion we can all agree to the fact that needs of the many outweigh needs of the few. This way we can progress for utopia.