It is often said 'when is Rome, do as the Romans do'. Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they are visit? do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

People believe that it is important to follow what locals do when they are in a foreign land. In this essay, I will state why I completely agree with this belief and why I think it is, of course, possible to learn a culture without learning the local language.

There are people who argue that visitors from other countries should have freedom of choice and shouldn’t be expected to follow the local culture. But in many places, if we don’t follow the local culture, our acts might be considered very offensive by locals. For instance, in India, cows are worshipped as Gods while in many other countries beef is consumed as a part of daily meals. When a person from one of these countries asks for beef in Indian restaurants, they might hurt the emotions of people around them. Another example of this would be if we use the left hand for giving or dealing with money in many Asian countries.

Another reason why it is good to act in accordance with the local culture is that, in certain countries, laws are based on cultural acts. For example, it is mandatory to wear an ’Abaya’ in certain Islamic countries. Failing to do so may result in fines or punishments based on the law, even for tourists.

Even though it is a fact that understanding the language gives you a deeper understanding of a culture, I believe it is very much possible to learn a culture without having to learn a language. Thanks to technology, there are so many online videos on basic cultural aspects of a region and the reason behind it. There are also translator applications in mobile phones that can instantly translate between different languages as people speak. This will help in interacting with others and understanding the sentiments of people in the place we visit, even without knowing the language.

In conclusion, even though people are more forgiving of a foreigner’s unintentional offensive behaviour, it is important for anyone visiting a foreign land to follow their culture so as to respect their feelings. Whereas, it is not mandatory to learn a language to learn the culture for the aforementioned reasons.