An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

It can be seen that more and more professionals emigrate to developed countries, seeking better pay and living standards, while their own country is still struggling to provide education and health care facilities to its people. This essay will examine the problems caused by this and suggest ways that the developing countries can both retain skilled people and lure back the professionals who joined the brain-drain to developed countries.

The main problem, due to the situation discussed above, faced by third world countries is economic stagnation. Development of these countries become slower as skilled workers move out, rather than uplifting their people and contributing to their economy. This also keeps educational and medical assistance out of poor people’s reach, which would further add to another generation of sluggish economy.

One suggestion to this problem is to provide more incentives for citizens who serve the country’s population. This does not just involve government officials and the army but also doctors and teachers who greatly help everyone around them. Good teachers can make a great next generation for a country and good doctors can change people’s lives too, giving them second chances in many ways. Hence, governments should invest in their incentives, benefits and standardising the work environment with state-of-art equipment. Professionals would definitely stay if they see how their work is valued in their own nation and how they can help bring their society to the next level and also grow their knowledge with the latest equipment without having to go to a foreign country.

Another way is to invest in children from a very young age by teaching them how they can make a difference in their country’s future. These days even parents in poor countries want their children to settle in developed countries rather than serving their own. Instead, parents, neighbours, and teachers should encourage children to come up with ideas on how they want to help their nation grow and remind them to make a difference in society on those lines when they grow up.

In conclusion, government and people can hold hands to bring about a mindset change in the society we live in. When skilled professionals are valued, appreciated, and provided opportunities to grow, they would want to stay back and put their skills to use in their own nation.