It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media What do you think is the reason for the growth in the rate of juvenile crime What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation

In recent times, majority of the nation is experiencing a surge in the juvenile delinquency. Although many people believe that this results from the aggression and brutality shown in the media, I think this is not the sole cause for such negative trend. In my opinion, lack of parental guidance and increase in the number of broken families also play a key role in juvenile offences that can be easily tackled by the under mentioned solutions.

To begin with, tendency to commit crimes is relatively higher in teenagers who have been deprived of parental support. This is because parents are usually the closest person to an adolescent, which empowers them with the ability to shape and mold their children’s life in the best possible way. A recent study published in the Time magazine reported that teenagers brought up in a close-knit family are less likely to go astray. Another potential cause for the escalation of juvenile crime is the increase in the number of dysfunctional families. In other words, children belonging to such families undergo traumatic experience which imprints them on their mind that hostile behaviour is the only solution for all problems. Even though violence in the media is responsible for manipulating youth to commit crimes to some extent, the role of parents and families cannot be overlooked.

To combat this issue, two effective solutions can be implemented. Firstly, parents need to strengthen their bonds with their offspring. The reason for this is that the more parents spend time with their children, the less are the chances for them to deviate from the path of righteousness. Since children emulate what they see, parents can become a role model for them to instill important virtues into them. Another method to deal with this problem would be to ensure proper rehabilitation for the children of the broken families. To elaborate, counseling therapy would be able to aid such children from becoming a prey to mental derangements, which, in turn, transform them into a potential juvenile offender. Therefore, rehabilitation therapy is useful for depletion of under-age offences.

In conclusion, I think that in addition to violence in the media, deprivation of parental support and toxic familial environment can be attributed to increase in the offences by youngsters. By spending quality time with children and provisioning rehabilitation support, this problem can be mitigated to some degree.