Libraries should focus on improving their technological resources rather than on building a large collection of paper books.

To what extent do you agree?

There is an issue about adopting modern technologies in libraries. Some librarians think that it will have a positive effect on its guests. This essay disagrees with their point of view.

Let us start with reasons why some librarians suggest that libraries should concentrate on modern devices. The first reason is that visitors can find information online. It often happens that library guests cannot find a book, so they can find an electronical version of it on the web through the free wi-fi connection sitting at computers. Another reason is that many readers use laptops. To do some research, students can take books and perform their calculation on their personal computers with a wi-fi connection in the library. Furthermore, public clubs can use large screens to demonstrate presentations. Various meeting, such as Toastmaster, often rent projectors as well as computers from the library, because their participants need to show visual part of their presentation.

However, some readers state that libraries should house books rather than technologies. Firstly, technological devices often disturb other readers. Visitors usually complain to the library administrator about annoying sounds, which comes from other visitors with, for instance, smartphones in the auditorium, while they are attempting to focus on reading. Secondly, books are more convenient. Many people cannot read from either computer screens or mobile phones, so they usually need paper books, which they can find in the library. Moreover, people can escape modern gadgets. Libraries are usually considered places, where people can feel free from both devices and the Internet, which are pervasive today.

In conclusion, although some readers state that libraries should pay more attention on books, I think that they should equip some rooms with computers and wi-fi routers as well.