More and more newspapers and news channels are using photographs to support their news and stories. Some people think that photographs are not a reliable source of news while others consider photographs to be irrefutable

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Today it is impossible to imagine mass media with no usage of pictures. However, some newspaper readers claim people should consider any pictures conspicuously, since they may be deceitful. This essay agrees with their point of view.

Let us start with the reason why some readers are against counting on news images. The first reason is that editors often choose exciting pictures. In spite of possessing exact photographs, mostly mass media highlight ambiguous ones in their stories, since they look more attractive and thrilling. Another argument is that pictures frequently undergo digital alteration. For example, some tabloids are notorious for modifying images prior to publication so as to boost its turnover. Moreover, photographers can be biased. Newspapers often hire photojournalists both to pursue celebrities and to take pictures of them in awkward situations.

However, some news followers claim that pictures in mass media are undeniable. They support their opinion by the following reasons. First of all, in combination with text, pictures are capable to reproduce the whole scene in detail. Articles with no images may leave readers in confusion because of controversial facts, while embedded images may remove any misunderstanding. Secondly, pictures can convey emotion of participants. In scenes of crime, for instance, photographs raise different feelings in the audience, which texts can barely achieve. Finally, pictures help to avoid any inconsistency in testimony. Witnesses of an event may forget some important details whether intentionally or not, but images from the scene can fill these gaps and fully describe the sequence of events.

In conclusion, even though visual information may be distorted, I believe that photos from verified sources of information can be trustful.