Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Global trade and integration have been offering many opportunities for people to travel, study and work overseas. while I accept the fact that there are some difficulties that people would encounter while residing in a foreign country, I believe its benefits may outweigh those drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are some predictable disadvantages that a person may need to cope with at the very first stage of assimilation. Firstly, language barriers may put people down and create unnecessary misunderstandings between foreigners and locals. For example, daily activities including groceries shopping and eating out would be daunting and frustrating, if the language proficiency level is not sufficient. besides, the limited language command might also have adverse effects in studying because people need to learn new concepts, not in their mother lounges. For example, in the states, many international students have reported that they had a hard time understanding lectures delivering entirely in English during their freshman year. Finally, living away from home would cause homesickness which may result in serious depression.

On the other hand, the number of international students and expats have been exponentially increased due to the immense perks of this lifestyle. first one is that living abroad enhances the level of openness when people get the opportunities to expose to different ideas, people and culture. For instance, as a foreign student studying in Singapore, I have had a spectacular experience interacting with friends who are Chinese, Malay, Indian, Caucasian and others. Not only does it open my mind about different cultures and thinkings, but it also enhances my creativity and acceptance towards different perspectives. Additionally, many big corporations require international experience and language skills. Hence, mastering other languages beside people's mother tongue offers the prospective employees more chances to attain higher income jobs.

In conclusion, I believe the advantages and the positivities of living abroad in terms of enhanced openness and career prospects would supersede the trivial disadvantages that this lifestyle may bring.