Some people believe that governments should pay for health care and education; others, however, think this is not the governments’ responsibility. What is your opinion

it is often contentious whether the government budget should focus on enhancing awareness upon healthy eating and active lifestyle or it should be used in hospital bills to support sick people. In my opinion, these two areas need the equal attention due to their profoundly important role in society.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why government should invest its expenditure to encourage people engaging in healthy eating habits and fitness activities. campaigns like this provides a sufficient source of information for its citizen to understand a healthy diet. For instance, educational programs about nutrition have created awareness about the side effects of processed and fast foods, while they recommend the suggested daily amount of fruit and vegetable consumption. Additionally, promoting active lifestyle will not only keep people fit but it will also reduce the risk of diseases like obesity and cancer and. For example, in Singapore, the Health Board has implemented the steps Challenge to encourage people to walk more by tracking their steps daily and giving away rewards in form of vouchers for foods, beverages and groceries, which gathers such a huge success in reducing obesity rates within the community.

On the other hand, patronage from government is still incredibly necessary to support medical treatment due to several reasons. Firstly, citizens have worked and payed tax to the government so they should receive the support when they fall sick. Secondly, it is humanitarian to help poor people who cannot afford their medical bills. In developing countries like Vietnam, the majority of its population suffers from many contagious diseases and cancer without proper care because of their financial disability. Therefore, if they receive the financial support from local authorities, the adequate medical treatments would be attained to fight against the illnesses and probably cure them without worrying about paying bills of exorbitant amounts.

In conclusion, while I believe sponsoring campaigns to enhance the awareness of healthy eating and active lifestyle would benefit a lot of people, government should still pay equal attention and budget to support medical treatment in order to relieve the financial burden for its citizens.