Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty five can continue to live full and active lives In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make

From high-tech surgeries to groundbreaking HIV treatments, medical innovation has dramatically improved health outocomes. In wealthy nations, health care spending has risen and lives have been lengthened. As a consequence, also people over their sixties can still have a full life and contribute to make their surroundings a better and brighter place to live.

The elderly have a huge potential that society can take advantage of: they have a lot of experience and are always prompt to give some useful advice to the young people. Furthermore, for parents who have to struggle with shortage of time and low incomes, grandparents represent a formidable solution when it comes to taking care of children, who are usually more willingly to spend their free time surrounded by the kindess of family members, rather than in a kindergarten.

In addtion to this crucial aspect, which allows society to be more stable. people over sixties are still capable of enjoying a fulfilled life. Most of them, after retiring from work, have planty of spare time they use by meeting friends, enrolling at university to complete studies they had given up or just to follow an old but still burning passion. Most of them are socially engaged and share their skills and knowledge to help others. Being mentally and phisically active is therefore not only something they feel have a right to, but it is also something they actively pursue.

To summarize, creating the conditions that allow people over their sixties to be still activ and healthy is a win-win situation. They can play a major role in the society, taking care of their grandchildren or making their precious experience available to the others. Furthermore, researcher have shown that being mentally engaged have a beneficial impact on the health condition, which in turn has a positive effect on the health care spending as well.