The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn’t waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Libraries are one of the most relevant institutions of our modern society. Although, I don’t think it has only one main purpose, especially in twenty-one century. By this I mean that the physical support for the books is being replaced for digital one. And, even with this, libraries still tremendously useful for us, maybe with multipurpose now.

In my point of view, books still are one important product which libraries have to provide. Although, a survey collected in high schools around the world, after 2015, revealed that a growing number of children is learning reading in digital books instead of traditional ones. Something around forty percent of the children under ten years old already learned how to learn in electronic devices. So, I really believe that libraries should accompany the changes to keep relevant in future.

If they truly want to stay helpful for the next generations, they certainly should develop other projects to share information, knowledge and stories through different technologies. For instance, University of Brasilia, in Brazil, has developed its digital library, giving access to all these high-tech medias by the Internet. It is being helpful for all students there, and even people who don’t want to stay physically there, can get access to the content from home.

Another serious example about the multipurpose of the libraries is the Millennium Library in Winnipeg, Canada. The city built a marvelous structure to ease access to knowledge and information. If you want to reach books, there are many of them there, otherwise, all place is constructed to incentivize people to study, research and learn. All activities available shows us how a library can be creative. For example, there are places isolated to study with Wi-Fi access, there are free activities for children, English classes for immigrants and even areas for entrepreneurship.

There is a tendency, therefore, that libraries should invest all resources in books, but I really think that they need to invest in every aspect that might be helpful for education. If some strategy is important for learning, they should use them. In my opinion, even these different medias should be part of their collections.