Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunize their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunize their children? Discuss both view and give your opinion.

It is clear that childhood vaccination has become a subject of extremely debatable topics because of its effects on societies in recent decades. Although some claim that parents should have the right to raise their kids by their own ways, all children must be subject to receive the vaccines shot.

On the one hand, there are some non-medical reasons why refusal vaccination has been gradually increasing in some countries. First, the most common reason is the parental religious beliefs. In fact, using some kinds of components, such as the animal-derived gelatin and even the human fetus tissue, in producing some vaccines is supposed to oppose the tenets of some religious groups, which causes the refuse of immunization. Second, maintaining a healthy lifestyle is also another reason for this phenomenon since it helps to protect children against vaccine-preventable diseases naturally. For example, by following good habits, including choosing to breastfeed for at least two years, first half year no childcare and minimizing travelling in the first two years, children’s health are definitely promoted, which contributes to reducing the chance of getting these kinds of illnesses.

On the other hand, making vaccination compulsory is imperative to protect societies. First, not receiving the vaccines might causes a detrimental effect on a whole society. This means that herd immunity is vital to the safety of the public, which requires the proportion of vaccinated people must be maintained to protect societies against the devastating effects of disease outbreaks. Second, the vaccines benefit for children’s health since they have the ability to destroy and prevent many illnesses. Actually, some kinds of dangerous illnesses were eradicated in the world thanks for vaccination since getting immunization is to stimulate the immune system to produce antibodies that help to save children from the life threatening diseases, especially polio and smallpox.

In conclusion, even though there are some side effects of vaccination, it definitely offers a net positive benefit for human race. By using the technological advancements, scientists would be able to improve these kinds of vaccines in the foreseeable future.