In many cities the use of video cameras increased in order to reduce crimes, but some people believe this measures restrict our privacy. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Discuss with your opinion.

It has recently been a moot issue whether using surveillance cameras for ensuring security should be maintained or not. While there are still drawbacks of using those technological equipment, I do believe its values are more significant.

On the one hand, the downsides of installing video cameras in public places are various. Regarding the opponents, they strongly argue that this is more likely to violate their privacy; to elaborate, recording every act done by the public continuously is a lucid invasion over the personal space of individuals. Moreover, these gadgets are parts of technology which can easily be hacked, hence the stolen personal details could be used viciously.

On the other hand, I suppose that the benefits of exploiting this mesmerizing technology would eclipse these analyzed disadvantages. First, proponents display that public places, where the most malicious crimes are perpetrated, should be enhanced by these electronic devices. This can probably help the police monitor happenings daily. Secondly, this way of rendering protection can help to diminish the potential violence actions. Take, for example, an accountant working in a company decided to take a bribes, they may change their mind about the bribery when they just imagine that they can definitely be captured and detained . What is implied is that culprits will think twice prior to committing crimes, for they fully understand that a recorded footage is a great evidence in the court.

To conclude, I am of the opinion that the merits of using video cameras are immensely beneficial for conserving the safety of the entire society from criminal acts as well as being a tremendous proof against offenders, which can simply maintain people’s rights, are more notable than the harm they cause.