Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. some think it is good, while others think it is a has disadvantages. Discuss both of the views and give your opinion?

People have different views about the sponsoring of sports by the companies for the purpose of advertisement. Although this approach has some drawbacks, It appears that it could be more beneficial.

At the outset, advertising through sports events could have some cons as it might be used for endorsing unethical products, such as liquor, tobacco. It could be harmful for people, who are easily swayed by this kind of endorsements. Moreover, it has been witnessed that sales of products and services largely depend on the public-image of the players. Put simply, if the peak performance is not displayed by the sportsperson, the impact of this could be seen on the sales graph. To exemplify, companies like to hire extraordinary players, to enhance their sales. Given the above explanation, it is advocated by some people that sponsoring of sports event is by no means the best way for the advertising.

On the other hand, numerous benefits can be taken if sports tournaments are sponsored by companies. Firstly, better concentration might be given on the sports by the players, due to the monetary benefits given by the companies, which are sponsoring the events, that results in high-performance in games. Secondly, sports accessories can be obtained, through sponsorship-contracts which might be impossible because of their high prices, such as sports shoes and dresses. Taken an example of Indian cricket team sponsor 'Biju' that is bearing all the expenses of the required accessories of all the players. Therefore, it would appear that the sports team can take the advantages of monetary benefits given by their sponsor companies.

In conclusion, while some demerits of sponsoring sports for advertising are. Exist, I believe the merits as far more as compared to the former.