Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more homes.

Should these new homes be built in existing cities or should new towns be built in the countryside?

There is an issue about where to erect new residential areas. Some social workers claim that it is better to build in current urban regions, while some developer suggest creating new towns in the rural places. This essay agrees with the idea of constructing houses in the city.

Let us start with reasons why some social workers state that it is better to locate new residential buildings in current municipals. The first reason is that it can save on town infrastructure. Architects can design apartment buildings without sewage, heating, and water systems, because they are available in the developed city, which allows to reduce the budget. Another reason is the approximate of universities. Best colleges commonly reside in cities, so school graduates, who live in homes near downtown, can much easier commute to their colleges than those from suburbs. Furthermore, cities secure high employment opportunities. Dwellers in newly constructed towns may find it arduous to get employment, since large companies prefer to concentrate their branches near the headquarter, which is usually located in cities.

However, some politicians argue that developers should focus their effort on building new towns. They justify their point of view by the followoing arguments. Firstly, it may diminish high-populated areas. Many urban areas suffer from overpopulation, but, with the construction of new towns, city councils will be able to solve it. Secondly, there is a possibility for towns to grow into cities. Many towns have the opportunity to develop into municipals, because they have enough spaces for both new blocks of flats as well as trading centers. Moreover, they can attract more investors by opening unoccupied markets. Businessmen tend to willingly open their departments in towns, if they have both a big population and scarcity of stores, so that they can find a niche.

In conclusion, although some developers advocate the idea of erecting apartment buildings in rural areas, I think it is reasonable to connect them with existing cities so that people can enjoy all benefits of urbanisation.