In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years the world's population has increased drastically and everyone wants work in corporate or study in renowned institutions, most of which are established in metropolitan cities. Besides, living a city life is most of the people's ambition who are raised in rural areas. This has lead to migration of individuals in huge numbers from interior areas of world to cities. This essay will discuss the positive and negative impact of this situation.

Firstly, cities provide us with numerous opportunities for growth in various ways, from quality education to a stable and high income job. People from rural areas flock into the cities to take advantage of these possibilities and settle down. The established companies in these cities tend to hire such migrated people who can work on lower wages which is beneficial for company and simultaneously, the individual is also satisfied as they achieve a stable job and perks of enjoying and settling in city. This in return proves beneficial for cities as well because more other companies will try to establish themselves into respective city comprehending the availability of cheap resources and increasing the revenue for government. For example, after 2000 the city of Mumbai saw a radical increase in population due to migration because it had become a hub for many multinational companies and also many startups were emerging.

However, the mass relocation of people in metropolitans have resulted in reduction of productivity from the native areas. Various activities like farming has reduced gradually due to non-availability of sufficient manpower, parallelly decreasing the cultivation of crops and plants essential in daily diet and increasing the prices of commodities. Also, in cities there is possibility of competitive market where the labour supply is high and job opportunities are scarce, leading to various issues like unemployment, inflation and overcrowding of cities. For example, the policies drafted by Canadian government for immigrants lead to migration of many foreigners to prime cities in Canada. As a result, opportunities are comparatively low to the people who migrated.

To conclude, the emigration of people from rural to cities is a negative trend unless it is well balanced by the government and the people of the country. This can be achieved by government establishing institutions and inviting companies to establish themselves in these rural areas and providing opportunities to native individuals maintaining the harmony.