In many countries, people today are living in a "throwaway society", where things are used in a short time and then thrown away. What are its causes. What are its problems.

Phenomenon of "thrownaway societies" has recently become a widespread issue all over the world. This seems to have several major causes and negative outcomes, which will be discussed on this essay.

Talking about possible causes, first of all, such approach of dealing with things might be imposed by producers thereof, always seeking ways to boost their profit. The revenue of companies manufacturing goods is known to be reliant on demand on output of their manufacturing. In this respect, creating stuff of high quality able to last long would have detrimental effect on demand and, in turn, on companies' revenue. Secondly, nowadays, goods. especially electronic devices and appliances, become outmoded in no time on account of extremely fast pace of technology development. Just-manufactured devices, these days, seem to be doomed to become supplanted by more modern ones and thus be disposed of in short time. Finally, society needs great number of affordable goods of moderate quality, which unfortunately become dumped soon. However bitter it might sound, poverty still prevails in numerous countries. Demand for low-quality products in such countries seem to be predominant.

When it comes to the associated problems, growing landfills and, as a result, contamination of the environment appear to be the only possible outcome of the phenomenon. Unfortunately recycling does not seem to be viable option for many societies, which result in goods ending their life in thrash bins. Another problem might be excessive expenditures on same products and resultant blight thereof on the welfare of consumers in general.

All in all, the major causes range from the greed of the producers to poverty of the consumers, which results in serious environmental issues and is able to blight the welfare of the whole nations.