In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses, such as the food and drink industry. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

Plastic containers have become increasingly popular over the past few decades, which has caused a lot of controversies. Some believe that plastic packaging offers several advantages, whereas others claim the contrary. While there are admittedly several benefits to plastic packaging, I believe that the negative influences of this growing development are more glaring.

On the one hand, there are several significant advantages to the use of plastic containers. One of the primary benefits is plastic’s versatility in product packaging. For instance, instead of using banana leaves in order to wrap takeaway products as well as to avoid tearing during transportation, food and beverage outlets will use plastic packaging. Because it is highly durable and can keep products impact-resistant in transit. Furthermore, the prices of production and selling are low, leading to plastics packaging being chosen by a greater number of people.

On the other hand, It is evident that plastic containers have several disadvantageous consequences for society. Due to plastic being a non-renewable resource, plastic waste is very difficult to decompose. The fact that the plastic garbage can take about 100 years or even about 1000 years to decompose is buried underground. In addition, every year the government must spend numerous money to treat plastic waste and this causes many negative impacts on the environment such as air pollution, water pollution and the ozone layer is affected, leading to the health of the population being threatened by many dangerous diseases such as lung cancer, heart attack or even stroke.

In conclusion, in my own perspective, the disadvantages of plastic containers outweigh its advantages. Therefore, it is time for the government to have radical policies to prevent these harmful products.