In many countries, schools have severe problems with student behaviour. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Misbehaviour is not uncommon among students. In fact, many schools around the world, face this pressing problem. Various causes are behind such behavioural patterns. In this, essay, I will discuss what those causes are as well as suggest measures that can be taken to ensure that learners stay within their limits.

There are various reasons as to why students act in a way that is disrespectful. Firstly, it is quite noticeable that those who do so tend to come from broken families raised either by single-parents or step ones. As a result, the child’s life becomes unstable, causing him or her to misbehave not only with peers but also with teachers and the school administration. For instance, a friend of mine often complained about how brutally her step-mother treated her and it was not surprising that she would, more often than not be detained after school for having misbehaved. Secondly, improper conduct can be attributed to a lack of proper upbringing. If for example, when parents fail to educate their child about how to incorporate tolerance and respect in their lifestyle, then the rates of student misbehavior is obviously high. Overall, divorce or separation and the lack of education on behalf of parents can be damaging to the child himself.

While the problem seems intractable, there are solutions available. The first solution is to create a government-sponsored awareness campaign which can sensitize students about the features of ideal conduct at school. This initiative yielded results in the U.K according to a 2018 Oxford University research, which revealed that 76% of British students became more tolerant towards both educators and their friends. Another option would be the introduction of new rules and regulations in schools which could deter students from misbehaving. For instance, knowing that they could be suspended or even expelled upon improper conduct, students will surely abstain from behaviour that could lead to this. Clearly, a proposed awareness campaign and a review of the current laws in schools might just solve the problems caused.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the causes why some students adopt an entirely stringent comportment at school. Although the causes are evidently clear, there are measures that can be taken to alleviate the problem.