Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Recidivism is a significant issue because after being released prisoners face numerous difficulties when reinterring society, making them more likely to repeat an offence. Some solutions can ve taken to tackle this problem.

Firstly, it is hard for former prisoners to obtain employment after imprisonment. Spending years in jail they do not have the opportunity to gain proper work experience that qualifies them for a job. Also, lack of vocational skills as well as literacy makes ex-convicts only qualified for low-skill, low wage employment. Moreover, some business owners are reluctant to hire person with criminal records. All of these factors have created a barrier for former prisoners to gain a job after release. Consequently, they tend to return to their criminal life as a survival method. Secondly, the sense of isolation and discrimination among communities is another leading factor for recidivism. Inmates in the post-release period are prohibited from any financial assistance and loans to run a business on their own. Additionally, they receive a negative attitude and the untrust from the community despite their rehabilitation and behavioural changes. The condition urges them to re-enter the criminal pathway.

There are some solutions to decreasing the recidivism rate. The first approach is to focus on long-term educational and vocational programs for offenders during the prison time. In reality, these activities take place only in a short time such as several weeks or months before the release, which does not relay help. Therefore, it is crucial to have a long and systematic plan focussing on high school diploma education, college degree programs as well as vocational skills. These programs will equip prisoners with essential skills that they can utilize after being released into society. The second solution is providing the ex-offenders with job opportunities and offering some financial packages to support them to establish new business. When they are employed and have a source of income to sustain their lives and fulfil their basic necessities the likelihood that they will engage again in crime will decline.

In conclusion, it is a fact that significant numbers of criminals have returned to crime after a period of incarceration. This reality is the result of multiple factors. Hence, the combination of several solutions should be adopted to tackle the problem