In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is gradually becoming a trend in most nations of the world for majority of the youngsters to be uninterested in reading newspapers or staying tuned to the news on the TV. This essay discusses why this clout is on the rise and measures that can be taken to curb it.

The youth generally attribute perusal of newspapers to be boring, because they feel it is for the elderly. This has brought about the general consensus that youngster do not have keen interest in the news because, they want to stay 'Hip". They also find articles in the newspaper to be less their concern as it is their time to keep up with their friends and have fun without concerning themselves with the happenings of the world at large. For instance, youngsters will rather read about their Reality TV crush coming to an even nearby than the flood happening in another state.

To curb this trend in the society, it is up to the caregivers of these young adults to instill in them the culture of listening or reading the news. To Illustrate, parents can make reading news a morning routine in their household. They can also attach a reward to their children who have read the most articles and summarized in the week. This will get their offspring more enthusiastic about perusing news prints as a compensation attached.

In conclusion, the rise in young adults being uninterested in reading news articles or watching the news on the TV can be attributed to the stereotype that it is reserved for the older generation. To Solve the challenge caregivers, need to imbibe the culture of watching the news in their offspring.