In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming pupular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion about this?

In this day and age, the prevalence of crime-related novels and series has raised concern about whether it is beneficial or disadvantageous. From my perspective, the popularity of this trend can be due to two reasons and this brings about negative impact among people in the society.

There are myriad reasons why criminal-type novels and films are gaining popularity. First and foremost, the thrilling characteristics of this type of film never fail to amuse the audience. In fact, films with fascinating plots acted by experienced actors and actresses can arouse audiences' curiosity to watch until the end. Also, as the film industry is highly competitive, film producers have to find new ways to draw people's attention to become more successful, earning millions of dollars. As a result, they create a wide variety of movie adaptations such as TV crime dramas or series.

Nevertheless, I would contend that the increasing popularity will bring about adverse effects to the society as a whole. Indeed, having watched a lot of criminal movies or novels will somehow change the perceptions of the audiences on crime as they will see it as a normal situation and may not be afraid of it when real crimes occur. Accordingly, their personal belongings and especially their lives can be dangerous as robbers can kill them to keep their secrets. Moreover, excessive exposure to criminal novels can lead to juvenile delinquency among many youngsters. They can easily imitate what crimes are being carried out in the book without having a sense of what is right and wrong. This can result in their future having wrong perceptions.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that criminal movies are appealing to the audiences, we can not deny the drawbacks it brings to us. I would recommend people have the right perception about crime and also parents should censor what their children watch and read carefully.