Nowadays, many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep.

What problems can lack of sleep cause?

What can be done about lack of sleep?

In this day and age, a majority of citizens are having problems with maintaining enough sleep for their bodies, which I believe can cause serious health issues. In this essay, I will outline some issues related to this sleep deprivation and put forward some measures to this difficulty.

There are two prime problems due to sleep deficiency, both physical and mental. On the physical level, it is scientifically proven that a lack of sleep can cause weight gain and obesity. In fact, sleep deprivation can negatively impact a body's metabolism and eating habits, therefore people who feel unrested are more likely to choose food that is rich in carbohydrates and sugar. This is an alarming problem as it can lead to hypertension and cardiovascular diseases such as heart attack and stroke. On the mental level, people suffering from long-term insufficient sleep can not maintain high concentration and mental alertness at work which can, in turn, reduce their work productivity and efficiency.

Actions must be taken to minimize the impact sprung from inadequate sleep. First and foremost, it is evident that sleep-deprived people can not manage their time well that they may prioritize other tasks over sleep. Therefore, family and friends should raise their awareness about the consequence of lack of sleep and assist them to manage their time. However, every effort will not be successful without a sense of persistence. Accordingly, each individual should attempt to maintain the habit of going to sleep early. On the other hand, if the symptoms persist, patients should find health establishments to have their health checked.

In conclusion, sleep deficiency can cause serious health impacts both physically and mentally. To address this issue, not only relatives and friends should help people lacking sleep, but also those who suffer from a lack of sleep should make an effort to get over this problem by sticking with the aforementioned solutions.