In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Modern urban dwellers prefer to live alone or in nuclear families in contrast with our ancestors living in large family groups. In my opinion, this development is beneficial for the society because it reduce conflicts in families and as a result the youngsters grow up as good-tempered members of a society.

First of all, a person living by himself has opportunity to become fully independent member of a society. It is a freedom to make our own decisions from tiny to huge one without any concern. We can make our own choice what to eat for breakfast, what dress to wear, play games or not, do renovation in a house or not, how arrange everything and etc. As a result, there is no unnecessary tension between family members and everyone has freedom to choose the way of their lives.

Secondly, a nuclear family unit where only immediate family involve helps people to maintain the budget more efficiently. It is easier to cooperate among two people rather than large extended family is involved. For instance, if a husband decided to buy a car, he would need to convince only his wife and nobody else. It means less conflicts and healthier atmosphere in a house hold. Thus, this way of life has positive consequences for children as well because if they are brought up in calm, satisfied environment, they will more stable emotionally and achieve more success in their lives.

In conclusion, I believe that recent trend of living life separately from the other members of a family is a positive development. This is because it allows adults to make their own decisions reducing conflicts among family members and helping to nurture children in a healthy, psychologically stable environment.