In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

In the past, people solely depend on traditional source of information such as newspapers and TV but nowadays, only handful of youngsters actually gets their information from these sources. This essay will discuss possible causes which include technological advancements, convenience and affordability. This essay will also discuss possible solutions.

One of the benefits of technology is that it made life easier and convenient to all. In other words, there is wide range of on-line platforms such as Twitter, Face-book, and Yahoo news providing new feeds on a minute by minute basis which is accessible to majority teenagers. Therefore, they would prefer to get breaking news rather than wait for traditional newspapers which are often printed on a daily basis. Majority youths have Smart-phone which they can access information without necessarily carrying cumbersome newspaper. Also, most youngsters cannot afford newspapers regularly as they are expensive. These are the reasons why only a handful of teenagers read newspapers.

Popularity of newspaper reading among youths can be boosted by changing their presentation and cost. That is to say, traditional news outlets should expand their range and style of disseminating information. For example, newspaper magazines should have online platforms which can be easily reachable by all. Furthermore, printed copies of news should have captivating headlines, brief and interesting. The cost of newspapers should be dropped so that it can be afforded by many.

In conclusion, a lot of teenagers do not patronise traditional media out lets such as newspapers and TV because of technological advancement and convenience but this could be improved by stepping up their game and raise awareness most especially among youths.