In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV.

What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

The young generation is not reading a newspaper or following news from TV, in many nations. The increased usage of technical gadgets and emphasizing more on other subjects during school days are the reasons because of which young people are not allocating proper time to follow the news; however, creating awareness and making a newspaper reading a part of the curriculum can help them in solving the problem.

Increased usage of mobile phones and computers, by youngsters, is the main reason behind not following the news. Since they are always active on social media, they do not get time to read or listen to the news. In addition, they do not have an interest in current affairs since nowadays the curriculum is designed to emphasize more on scientific subjects. Schools play a vital role in creating interest in a subject; therefore, by not giving importance to current affairs, they are not helping upcoming generations to build interest in current affairs. Thus, the young generation, not only get time to read the newspaper, but also the current curriculum is designed in the way that interest is not developed current affairs.

One solution to resolve this issue to create awareness among youngsters so they follow or read the news instead of wasting time on social networking sites. If they know the importance of news, they will start following it. Another remedy is to make reading newspapers an important part of the curriculum, this will make them follow news from childhood itself. By this, the interest can be developed, which will make them follow the current affairs. Therefore, creating awareness can let young people know about the importance of news whereas adding it to the curriculum will be built their interest in reading newspapers.

In Conclusion, awareness among the young generation can tell them the importance of following current news whereas adding it to the current curriculum can create interest among them from childhood.