Many criminals perform further crimes as soon as they are released from prison.

What do you think are the causes for this ?

What possible solutions can you suggest?

Most criminals turn out to be serial offenders. The moment a person is convicted, the society black lists him. While interacting with other cell mates, unjust trials and verdicts and benefits earned from the crime can be the possible causes for re offending, proper rehabilitation and counselling services are two effective solutions against repeating crimes.

Firstly, the psychological trauma in finding a method to put up oneself in society is enormous. Which, may entail the person resuming his crimes. Also, innocent people who get convicted on circumstantial evidence and those who undergo unfair trials may develop a revengeful attitude. To exacerbate the situation, potential earnings from the crime committed can lure offenders to be serial criminals. A recent study showed 30% of increase in people repeating crimes for the loot they got, another 50% increase for the stress they went through in finding new jobs. Again, having a chance to mix and communicate with jail inmates who share similar thoughts can invite trouble.

Confining minor criminals to non custodial-sentences and providing proper rehabilitation services to those imprisoned are two fruitful methods to ensure crime is not being repeated. Lot of studies show that prisoners who are given proper insight to channelize their abilities in productive ways after their jail term, have a better living. Also, offering effective counselling services to prisoners can deter them from any other potential crime. It was reported that a serial killer was pulled back from an attempted murder through counselling. Moreover, if police conduct timely checks at the places where these criminals are put up will reduce crime because of the fear being watched over.

To conclude, even if situations such as mental harassment, peer pressure from other jail inmates and potential gains call for committing crimes again, proper rehabilitation activities and counselling services can cease offenders from redoing crimes.