Many films and music pieces are free on the internet. Is this a good or bad development?

Many films and music pieces are free on the internet.

Is this a good or bad development?

There is no doubt that the Internet has led to a dramatic expansion in the number of free music and movies. In my opinion, I believe that this is a bad trend for several of reasons.

The most significant reason why I think that free media on the Internet encourage people to spend many hours each day watching a movie or listening to a music. The problem with this is that these excessive hours in front of a computer or TV can often result in weight problems. Although watching a movie by itself does not cause people to gain weight, spending too much time sitting in front of a screen without doing exercise can result in obesity. Conversely, if films and songs were not free, the number of people consuming them would decrease dramatically.

Alongside the weight problems mentioned above, I believe that this abundance of free media could lead to confusion on the part of the average user. People usually are tempted by free products, and this explosion in free movies and music can make them confused about which song or movie to consume. On the other hand, I would argue that, it would be less confusing for people if these media were costing a different amount of money, as people would take into account the price factor when making a purchase decision. Another concerning issue that typically the income of films crews and singers is paid by selling these movies and songs, and it would be extremely unfair for them to cut down their salaries by providing their hard-work on the Internet for free.

In conclusion, uploading films and music pieces for free on the Internet would have negative effects on the people who are consuming them and on the entertainment industry.