Nowadays people can buy a large variety of household goods, more than ever before in most countries in the world. Is this a good or bad development? Give your opinion and examples.

These days people have an opportunity to buy a wide variety of goods for their houses as compared to the past. Mostly these goods help to complete daily chores conveniently and factories producing them boost the economy. Therefore, in my opinion, this is a positive development.

To begin, most household goods are home appliances, which are useful to do various household works, previously, these chores were done manually by ladies. As a result, household goods add convenience to our life and spare us time for our families. In Japan, for instance, people tend to own more household appliances and therefore, despite of busy routines, they can spend more time with families. In this way, owning more of these goods is a positive change.

Furthermore, like many other goods, household goods are also produced in factories. Higher use of household goods requires more production by factories; consequently, increasing the business for manufacturing plants and bringing growth to global economy. Positive growth in economy helps to generate more jobs. For example, China has the largest manufacturing industry of household goods and also more jobs for their huge population.

I believe it is a positive development to own a wide variety of goods, since these goods improve our living standards and play an important role in the economy. To further elaborate, take the example of developed countries, where people own more goods and also have bigger economies than developing countries.

In conclusion, buying more household goods is a positive development, which is changing people’s lives and helping countries to improve the economy.