Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal.

Some people, however, think that other types of progress are actually important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Strong economy and well managed infrastructure are the need of today's world, so many governments are focused and formulate their policy to boost the national economy. However, a section of people believes that other progress such as education, culture are more important than economic development. I accord with the notion of economic development, as other types of developments are inter linked.

To embark on, world has seen that prosperous nations have progressed in all respects, and their government emphasis more on economic development of the country. As wealth is required to improve any sector of a state, so economic boost is the most important criteria for every government. For instance, to have a good education system, a nation needs fine universities, colleges and schools, which actually needs money. Moreover, health of the nations, cultural enhancement and expansion are possible if nation is financially strong to invest in these sectors.

However, a few people aruge that investment for development in culture, in health etc. are more important than investment in infrastructure and business. They believe if government put less effort in saving their culture, in heath of their people, entire community will die one day due to the influence of other culture. But, to save any culture, to improve health etc., government needs money in their disposal, which is possible only if economic condition is stable.

To sum up, financial strength of a nation is the base of all sorts of development. Therefore, economic development is given as first initiative by any well developed country as all other developments are correlated with each other.