Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many countries focus their attention to develop the nation financially as their main aim. But, some may believe that improvement in other areas are equally beneficial for the well being of citizens.This essay will examine the both sides of the argument.

It is undoubtedly true and many may say that the economic progress is the major goal of the most of the governments these days. In fact, a wealthy nation enjoys high standards of living compared to a poor nation. In other words, if a government has gain its financial security, it would be able to fulfil the various needs of the people of the country without hesitation. For instance, it is evident that, governments could spend its infrastructure such as roads, railways, airports, harbours and many more as if that government was financially strong. Because of this, it is justifiable that economic growth is pivotal for a developed nation.

On the other hand, according to my point of view, mere financial strength cannot bring the prosperity for a country. Other aspects of the development is crucial for the fulfilment of the population. For an example, where there is less crime in the country, there is a feeling of more security among citizens as well. In order to gain this success, governments have to make efforts to establish the fair legal system as well as moral and ethical accountability of the nation. Moreover, fields such as health, education, agriculture and numerous others have to be developed although there is a economic growth to build as a whole. This is clearly evident that the United States of America, the giant of the world economy, is now experiencing the huge increase in youth crimes in advance despite their huge success in wealth.

While some argue that the financial progress would be the major concern of the government, there are number of reasons to make agendas on developing other aspect of the development of the nation.