Many high schools in some countries now require students to spend a certain number of hours each term doing volunteer work or community service. Some people believe this is an excellent idea that promotes good citizenship and cultivates compassion. Others feel that forced volunteerism is not volunteerism at all.

What do you think about this issue? Write an essay of about 250 words to state your opinion. Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Nowadays, education not only pays attention to teaching theory but also promotes extracurricular activities, especially volunteerism. While some individuals believe that requiring students to volunteer or perform community service for a set number of hours each semester is a fantastic idea to encourage good citizenship and cultivate compassion, others think that compulsory volunteerism takes away the true nature of volunteerism. Personally, I totally agree with the first opinion.

To begin with, volunteerism encourages students to be more proactive in their communities and the world around them, which ultimately helps everyone in society, especially those who are disadvantaged or "underdog." Next, the students might learn new things from volunteer experience. Charity work will help students gain many experiences that they have never experienced before. It can be a life experience, public speaking experience, budget management experience, teamwork experience, or even necessary skills for work and life later. Lastly, doing volunteer work is an excellent way to expand social relationships. This is because when students do volunteer, they will have a chance to meet, interact and work with new people from different regions and countries.

On the other hand, some people oppose this opinion because they feel it is coercive and changes the nature of volunteerism. It is understandable that these individuals have such thoughts because, in fact, there are some schools that take advantage of forcing students to volunteer to perform self-seeking actions. This seems to be an illegal act, but this is also the reality of some educational institutions today. The selfishness of a few individuals has turned an action that should have come from the human heart into an illegal act.

In conclusion, I believe that asking for volunteering in schools will be one the good methods to educate students about kindness and love for people. However, those charitable works need to be done in the right way so as not to change their nature.