Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is obvious that manufacturing a large number of products such as food and drink containing high levels of sugar causes numerous health problems. In addition, sugary products ought to be made more expensive to reduce consuming sugar efficiency. Personally, I completely agree with this statement, as I believe that, eating much sugar not only brings a detrimental effect on people’s health but also causes obesity.

First, sugar is deemed an indispensable spice in every dish, so, with the advance in sugar, consumers can easy to find it at any grocery store or any store in the market. All food is nearly added to sugar, people especially youngsters tended to be keen on sweets leading to the rate of diabetics increasing, besides that, diabetes might cause obesity nowadays. As a result, diabetes is still considered an alarming “non-communicable pandemic” globally. For instance, according to statics from the International Diabetes Federation (IDF), there had been more than 450 million people with diabetes in the world since 2019, then there is expected to increase to roughly 600 million people in the world with diabetes. In addition, diabetes is accounted for about 10% of the world’s population.

By contrast, others think sweeties can put them in a good mood and boost their energy level during a hard-working day, and also help the brain release some feel-good chemicals. However, overusing will always cause health problems.

In conclusion, I totally advocate the idea that many sugary products should be made more expensive in order to encourage people to consume less sugar for the reasons mentioned above.