Many museums and historical sites are mostly visited by foriegn tourists, but not by local people. Why do you think it happens ?

What can be done to attract local people to these sites?

Historical places and museums are sources of attraction mostly for international visitors, however, native people pay a rare visit to these places. The lack of

new

attractive sources and high entry charges are the reasons behind the little interest of local people for these sites. Some measures need to be taken at the

government

level to encourage natives to visit cultural sites

To begin with, first and the foremost reason for the less visit of local people to museums and historical places is that people feel bored while visiting such places.

In other words, natives are mostly familiar with the history of historical buildings and visiting the same sites is considered a waste of time by them. Moreover,

the

traditional artworks in museums are generally admired by tourists only, due to lack of new sources of attraction the repetitive visits of natives to these places generate a feeling of boredom. Secondly, the museums and historical sites charge high entry fees for every visit, this discourages the local visitors to spend money on visiting these places. For instance, a famous cultural site named 'Sada Pind' charges Rs.1000 for each visitor, for this reason, the natives avoid spending this much amount on every visit.

There are some possible solutions that can be taken by authorities to generate interest among people for historical places and museums. Primarily, to make these

places

more attractive for local visitors cultural events, exhibitions and animated shows should be organized by the government. To exemplify, in the famous temple

'Akshardham'

the laser show is performed that describes different religious stories, this inculcates the curiosity for visiting the place among natives. Next, there should be free entry passes for the native people on some specific days, this will encourage people to visit these places. For example, the National Museum in Delhi offers free visits on weekends for local people, this helps people to collect some useful information.

To conclude, the local people offer less interest in visiting historical places and museums, as they do not gather any new information from these places. To make

these

places more alluring, interesting events need to be organized and free entry passes should be given to native people. If these steps are taken, this will not only increase the local visits but also enhances foreign tourism.