Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been considerable debate in recent past whether the entry into any museum should include a fee or it should be at free of cost. I think the pros of the inclusion of entry fee to museums outweigh the cons. These will be discussed more in details with examples in following sections.

Most museums all over the world contains rare collections of historical items that are being considered priceless or irreplaceable. The maintenance of these items require periodic servicing from specialists experienced in antic objects or paintings. For example, British Museums have ample pieces of celebrity idols made with only candles. These requires them to keep the room temperature at a certain cooling level. Unless there had been no air conditioning system, those idols would have been eventually evaporated. The periodic cost of running the museum at level best, an entry fee is necessary.

Some might argue that charging people who discourage them to visit museums but these could be applicable for smaller-portion of the visitor having low-income potential. For example, our National Museum entry fee is borne by the government for greater benefit of our mass visitors for the sake of educating our next generation.

In summary, I strongly believe that the entry fee to most museums should be charged for keeping them well and attractive.