Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

it is often argued that prisons make an offender, a hardcore criminal who indulges into more crimes than before. this essay will illuminate some of the root causes behind the increased number of crimes by an offender like inhumane treatment and improper rehabilitation at the prisons. Furthermore, this essay will also suggest some of the measures that may be taken to overcome the said causes, including community work punishments and imparting awareness.

The treatment in prisons is pathetic and there exists no or minimal rehabilitation programmes. imprisonment makes a onetime offender a criminal as they are treated inhumanely with other hardcore criminals. they are only subject to physical punishment with no emphasis on restoring their mental health and awareness. For instance, a person is highly influenced by his companionship and imprisonment promotes companionship of other criminals which have a detrimental influence. these types of punishments make a criminal rather than restoring them to good citizens.

promoting awareness about law and punishments involving community work can surely help to curb this menace of increased crimes. The criminals rather being imprisoned should be punished by keeping them under restrictions and providing them with community work so that they can learn about the respectable good jobs. they should also be educated and trained to make them aware about the good practices and the law. these will help to change the mentality of the offender towards the greater good.

If offenders commit more crimes after serving their punishment then it is the failure of the society and the rehabilitation process. As discussed in this essay, the conventional methods of punishing are the main cause behind this and these methods should be altered to overcome the existing problems.