Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Many people who served their first prison sentence end up breaking the law again. In this essay, I examine the reasons for this phenomenon and provide practical advices to solve the issue.

The first reason is due to the lack of rehabilitation while in the prison. In other words, offenders are not given a chance to retrain and learn new skills for their future or develop a deeper understanding of the correct moral behavior. As a result, the first-time offender is mixed with other criminals, which often strength their criminal intention. The second reason for repeated breach of law is owing to the difficulty in finding employment. As a result, many of them who struggle financially ended up breaking the law again, regardless of the consequence.

Perhaps the most efficient way to solve the problem is to provide better rehabilitation programs inside the prison. Some prisons allow prisoners to take online courses or even pursue a degree. By doing this, law officers can ensure that the convicted can learn useful skills which will hopefully earned employment. The offenders who have gone through proper training can integrate into the society when they are released. Another measure is to enforce better supervision when criminals are released from prisons. Some methods include having regular checks or installing tracking devices on the offenders. Hopefully, this solution can prevent people from commiting crimes since they are so carefully watched.