Many parents complain about violence promoted to their children through video games, TV programs and other media. Why is it happening? What can be the solution for it?

Nowadays, media such as computer games and TV shows are so popular among young children. Their parents, however, contend that violence and destructive behavior shown in these programs are harmful. There are specific root causes behind this negative development, and effective policies can be adopted to remedy the situation.

There exist a number of reasons why these video games and TV shows entail violence. First and foremost, acts of crime and violence may pique many children’s interests. In fact, spending most of their time on school and its assignments, these students would be tiresome, and in turn, they would look for something more exhilarating than everyday activities. This is where the mentioned media plays its role to entertain the users. Secondly, apart from being attractive to youngsters, these games and shows might not have been created for children in the first place. Thus, parents have every right to be worried about the contents of TV and computer productions prompted to their children.

There are, however, some workable solutions to cope with this phenomenon. One step would be producing attractive games and shows specifically for the younger users, particularly the ones that do not encompass any act of violence and nudity. Video games that their contents have been checked by various filter units in order to be suitable for younger ages are the most salient illustrations. Another viable alternative is to create reliable labeling systems for the media mainstreams by legislators. To explain more, it is much better to differentiate all the programs and games by the age groups of their target audience. This could directly lead to fewer children being prone to detrimental scenes.

In conclusion, owing to the fact that manifold aspects of children’s characteristics are negatively affected by the violent scenes that existed in media, lawmakers can tackle the problem through controlling the contents and separating them for distinct age groups.